Rochester, MN (KROC-AM News) - It was another busy day, at least concerning candidates filing for elected positions that will appear on the November ballot.

A 4th candidate filed today for the 1st Ward seat on the Rochester City Council that is being vacated by Ed Hruska. Patrick Keane has joined Heather Holmes, Paul Myhrom, and Kim Sin and running for the position. Shawn Palmer also joined Mike Walters and Byron Clark as candidates for the 5th Ward seat being vacated by Mark Hickey.

The race was set up today for a seat on the Rochester School Board. Vangie Castro filed for the Position 2 seat where Melissa Amundsen put her name on the ballot on the 1st day of the filing period,

Olmsted County Commissioner Matt Flynn filed for reelection today. He is facing a challenge from John Helmers.

There were 4 filings today for the Minnesota House seats representing the Rochester area. Tina Liebling filed for re-election to the District 26A seat where she is facing a challenge from fellow Democrat Abdulkadir Dahir Abdalla. Democrat Duane Sauke also filed for re-election to represent District 25B, where he is being challenged by Republican Kenneth Bush. Eyota Mayor Tyrel Clark put his name on the ballot as the DFL endorsed candidate for District 26B and Republican Duane Quam filed for re-election in District 25A. He is being challenged by Democrat Jamie Mahlberg.

Get local and national news on the go.  Download our News-Talk 1340 KROC-AM App – available on Apple and Android devices.

More From KROC-AM