Washington, DC (KROC-AM News) - Rochester and other areas of southeastern Minnesota are included in a major disaster declaration issued today by President Donald Trump.

The declaration covers 51 counties in the state, including Olmsted, Dodge, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Houston, Mower, Steele, Wabasha and Winona Counties. The Presidential action extends federal disaster assistance to areas affected by a severe storm, straight-line winds, and flooding that occurred between March 12th and April 28th.

The federal assistance is available to the state, local, and tribal governments, along with certain non-profit organizations, to help cover the cost of repairing and replacing public infrastructure and money spent by law enforcement and other agencies responding to the emergencies resulting from the natural disasters.

Governor Tim Walz formally requested the disaster declaration two weeks ago and spoke with the president about the situation during Trump’s visit to Minnesota in April. State officials earlier estimated the storms caused about $40 million in damage to public infrastructure throughout the state.

More From KROC-AM