St Paul, MN (KROC AM News) -  The Minnesota DNR has announced the winner of the 2017 turkey stamp contest.

The design submitted by Richfield artist Timothy Turenne was one of six that were submitted for the annual contest sponsored by the Department of Natural Resources.

Turenne’s painting will be featured on the 2017 turkey stamp. His artwork was previously featured on the 2007, and 2010 turkey stamp, and he has also won the Minnesota pheasant, walleye, and trout and salmon stamps.

Other finalists were Tyler Maddous, second place; Agnes Goudron, third place; and Thomas Sinnen, fourth place.

The DNR offers no prizes for the stamp contest winner, but the winning artist retains the right to reproduce the work. The 2017 turkey stamp will be available for sale Feb. 18, 2017.

The turkey stamp was authorized by the 1996 Minnesota Legislature at the request of turkey hunters. Stamp revenue is used for wild turkey management and research. The cost of a turkey stamp is now incorporated into the price of the hunting license – no additional purchase is required. However, a pictorial turkey stamp costs 75 cents and can be purchased with or without a turkey hunting license.

Turkey hunting licenses are free for 12 year olds; $5 for ages 13 through 17; and $26 for hunters 18 and older.


More From KROC-AM