Undated (KROC AM News) - It’s that time of the year when most Americans lose an hour.

Daylight Saving Time officially begins at 2 a.m. Sunday as clocks will move ahead one hour. This means it will remain dark longer in the mornings for the next several weeks. It also means it will remain light longer in the evenings.  

In recent years, there has been growing opposition to the time change and some states are considering either dropping DST or adopting it permanently.

Congress passed what was known as the Uniform Time Act in 1966 and that set the stage for the annual changes known as “spring ahead” and “fall back.”  States are permitted to drop out of the annual change. Right now, Arizona and Hawaii are the only states that do not observe DST.

Standard Time will return November 6th.

More From KROC-AM