St. Paul, MN (KROC-AM News) - Two Rochester students have been selected as recipients of 2017 Aspirations in Computing Awards.

Celeste Dyrbye-Wright, a junior at Mayo High School, is among the 15 state winners and is a 2017 National Honorable Mention winner, while John Marshall High School Junior Oreoluwa Odeyinka has been named a state honorable mention winner. A total of 32 Minnesota high school girls are being recognized for their aspirations in computing and technology-related fields.

The awards program was created in 2007 by the National Center for Women & Information Technology to honor young women in grades 9-12 for their computing-related achievements and interests in technology, and to support and encourage young women to pursue careers in technology.

The organization selected two young women from Minnesota, Moundsview High School Senior Maddie Wang and Wayzata High School Senior Ashmita Sarma as 2017 National Award Winners for placing in the top 1.4 percent in the nation from more than 3,500 applicants.

Advance IT Minnesota will host an awards ceremony honoring the state winners in Vadnais Heights on April 18.

More From KROC-AM